Virginia to Florida

Voxmobile and Intrepid in Virginia

So this was where I was able to park for the night and get a hot shower. I didn’t leave until 3:30 because Gil was beefing up my studio door (thanks Gil!). I missed the Express entrance to the freeway and got stuck in some awful rush hour traffic for about 45 minutes before seeing an entrance to the Express Lane. Aaaaahhhh, that’s better.

After 8pm, the traffic had lightened up considerably. I knew this would happen, but I always leave first thing in the morning, and by evening I’m bushed. Driving at that time of night was so pleasurable that I ended up going until midnight. I resolved in the future to take 3 or 4pm to 7 or 8pm as a break time and then get back on the road when it’s still nice and relaxing (especially when towing a trailer).

I spent the night at a rest area, and thanks to my white noise app, crashed almost immediately into a deep sleep. I hit the road again around 7:30 and got to my destination at 2pm. I backed my trailer into my site, intending to have the park manager put it exactly where I wanted it with his 4 wheeler. But my friends had other ideas.

Sylvain guilding Bill towing the trailerSylvain decided that the best place for the trailer was in front of the van so that I would have more privacy in the van and a shorter walk to “work”. Bill got his van with the hitch and Sylvain guided him. Sylvain then figured that we should move my rug up so that I wouldn’t track sand into either the trailer or the van after walking between them. Brilliant!

Voxmobile and Intrepid in SA

We decided to celebrate with a glass of wine, even though I only have 2 plastic glasses and a tea mug.

Celebrating with wine

Thanks everyone!

 

February 22, 2016

The day after I arrived, I finished setting up the studio and worked for awhile. Good thing too, because the following morning I woke up sick. Sore throat, sore head, and feeling like absolute crap. Perfect weather and I was stuck in the van watching Frasier reruns (love them!) and napping. It’s 3 days later and I still don’t feel terrific. I’ll probably be back to normal tomorrow as the weather is supposed to turn rainy.

An aside: after DREADING calling Comcast to order service (in the past it has taken them well over an hour to process my order – WTF?), I reached a customer service rep who knew what she was doing. I couldn’t believe how quickly it went. I picked up a modem with wireless router (my mistake last year was bringing a modem that didn’t have wireless and my new laptop is only wireless. It cost me a bundle to use my Mifi instead, about $200 for the month!), and then called them back to give them my Mac ID so that I could skip that step when I arrived. Now, there were 2 numbers with Mac ID in front of them – identical except for the last number. Of course, the one I gave them was wrong. So when I set everything up, my internet didn’t work. I called Comcast and, after a few minutes, the CSR suggested sending a technician out. NO! I exclaimed. A technician is not needed! I’ve been to this site 3 times before! Finally, he decided to try the other Mac ID and it worked. Whew….

Leave a Reply

